I don't make a habit of posting negative things, but I am going to share a couple of things that happened to me recently that really got under my skin. WHY is it that some people are so undependable? I was taught when I gave someone my word, it meant something. First, there’s the lost art of saying “Thank You”. I was also taught when someone went out of their way to help you or be kind to you, you (at least) simply said, “thank you”. Better yet, for years, I sent out actual ‘thank you’ notes. Remember those? If you’re under the age of 30, probably not. I admit I’m not too good at that anymore because sending a text or a fb thank you is just so much more convenient in today’s fast-paced world. But, I DO appreciate it when someone still takes the time and is thoughtful enough to do that, (Ashley). But to not say ‘thank you’ in some form or fashion is just rude, imho. Especially if you didn’t ‘have to’ do whatever it was you did. Lots of folks would have ignored the need – thought they had enough problems of their own – bottom line, didn’t care enough about you to even ask if you were ok. I didn’t do what I did to get the glory, I did it because I genuinely cared. But I’ve learned my lesson on that subject. Secondly, when we lost our beloved Jake (my 26 year old nephew) in September of 2010 - I made a loving photo tribute to him on fb (you can see it in my albums if you so choose to view it, it is very beautiful). I wanted a slideshow made with specific music added and actually wanted to give it to his parents, his wife, brother, and other loved ones for Christmas. At two different times, TWO different people on fb OFFERED to do this for me. (I had made a random post that I was wanting this done and inquired about different programs I might use, never thinking anyone might could do it FOR me!) The two that insisted they would be honored to make it FOR me just vanished from the face of the earth as quickly as they arrived. The agreement was that I would provide (and in one instance DID provide) all the pictures, DVDs (plus EXTRAS for their own personal use), and the music. Additionally, and (unbeknownst to them) I was going to surprise them with a generous gift for being kind enough to offer to do this for my family. I had made it clear that I was in no hurry and to take their time. Well, months went by and ultimately, NEITHER person came through for me, and in fact, they just dropped the ball and never responded again. If you know me, you know I'm not going to pester anyone needlessly and it takes a lot to get under my skin, so it's bewildering to me why (if they changed their mind or figured out they couldn't do it) they couldn't just be honest and upfront with me? THAT would not have bothered me at all. I am a reasonable person - I know things come up and/or that folks can change their mind - but WHY NOT be a grown-up and own it? Sorry to rant - I am just so disappointed in people whose word means nothing. A sign of the times, I guess. If you have read down to here - I thank you for your time and listening to my plight. Be sure to read the footnote below. God Bless You Always.....
Cindy “Lu”
Footnote: Since I first wrote the above, I am proud to announce I have almost completed Jake’s Tribute Slideshow/DVD. I just have to give it one final edit and I’m done. To me, it is a masterpiece and Jake and the good Lord know what I went through to finish it, but I am proud. I hope they are too! J